Council Members

The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ

Company Logo

Key Sector : Banking


The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd. (BTMU; 株式会社三菱東京UFJ銀行), is the largest bank in Japan, which was established on January 1, 2006, with the merger of the Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi, Ltd. and UFJ Bank Ltd. The bank serves as the core retail and commercial banking arm of the Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group.

Company Profile

BTMU is the ninth largest bank measured by assets in the world. The bank's head office is in Marunouchi, Chiyoda, Tokyo, Japan.

BTMU holds the share of the following.

Union Bank, California, USA (100% )
Morgan Stanley (21%).
On September 29, 2008, Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group announced that it would acquire a shareholding in Morgan Stanley for US$9 billion.

In Europe, BTMU has a branch network through London, Paris, Dusseldorf, Hamburg, Frankfurt, Munich, Madrid, Barcelona, Milan, and subsidiaries in Amsterdam, Vienna, Prague, Warsaw, Moscow. In the Middle East and Africa, it has branches in Bahrain (OBU), Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Doha and representative offices in Cairo, Istanbul, Teheran and Johannesburg.

Libya is covered by the Cairo representative office, which also covers the North African countries.

Contact Details

Address : Cairo Representative Office
10th Floor, Nile City Towers
South Tower,
Corniche El Nil
PO Box 942
Cairo, Egypt
Phone : +20-2-2461-9690/9691
Website :
Primary Contact Person : Masahiko Oka